Past Events

back to listing

Conference on Topological Phases and Topological Quantum Computation

Date:December 13 - 16, 2017 (Wed-Sat)
Venue:Lecture Theatre P3, LG1/F, Chong Yuet Ming Physics Building, HKU


In recent years, great progress has been made in the theoretical understanding and experimental realization of topological states. In particular, quantized zero bias conductance peaks possibly associated with Majorana zero energy modes have been observed in semiconductor/superconductor heterostructures. Evidence of chiral Majorana fermions in quantum anomalous Hall/superconductor heterostructures has also been reported. The half-quantized thermal Hall conductance has recently been observed which suggests that a non-Abelian fractional Hall state has been achieved experimentally. These works provide a foundation for the realization of non-Abelian braidings in condensed matter systems and provide platforms for fault-tolerant quantum computations. With the support of the Croucher Foundation and the Hong Kong Research Grants Council, we would like to gather experts in the area of topological phases and topological quantum computation in Hong Kong to discuss the most recent developments and future research directions in these areas.

International Advisory Committee

Prof. Gordon Baym (UIUC, USA)
Prof. Jason Ho (OSU & IAS Tsinghua, China)
Prof. Patrick A. Lee (MIT, USA)
Prof. Anthony Leggett (UIUC, USA)
Prof. Fuchun Zhang (KITS, Beijing & HKU, China)

Local Organizing Committee

Prof. Liang Fu (MIT, USA)
Prof. Gyu-Boong Jo (HKUST, China)
Prof. Kam Tuen Law (Co-Chair, HKUST, China)
Prof. Shun-Qing Shen (HKU, China)
Prof. Dajun Wang (CUHK, China)
Prof. Shizhong Zhang (Co-Chair, HKU, China) 

Invited Speakers

Ady Stern (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
Andrew Potter (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Anton Akhmerov (Delft University of Technology, Netherland)
Cenke Xu (UC Santa Barbara, USA)
Chaoxing Liu (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
Charlie Marcus (University of Copenhagen and Microsoft)
David Hsieh (Caltech, USA)
Erez Berg (University of Chicago, USA)
Gang Chen (Fudan University)
Hong Yao (Tsinghua University)
Jeffrey Teo (University Of Virginia, USA)
Jian Li (Westlake Institute for Advanced Study)
Joe Checkelsky (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Junwei Liu (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Kang Wang (UCLA, USA)
Karsten Flensberg (Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark)
Leo Kouwenhoven (Delft University of Technology and Microsoft)
Leon Balents (UC Santa Barbara, USA)
Liang Fu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Liang Jiang (Yale University, USA)
Lucile Savary (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Massatoshi Sato (Kyoto University, Japan)
Meng Cheng (Yale University, USA)
Pedram Roushan (Google Inc.)
Ray Ashoori (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Roger Mong (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Roman Lutchyn (Microsoft, USA)
Sergey Frolov (Pittsburg, USA)
Shunqing Shen (University of Hong Kong)
Timothy Hsieh (KITP, USA)
Torsten Karzig (Station Q, Microsoft, USA)
Vladimir Manucharyan (University of Maryland, USA)
Xi Dai (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Xiaogang Wen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Yuji MATSUDA (Kyoto University, Japan)
Yuval Oreg (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
Zhengcheng Gu (Chinese University of Hong Kong)